Home > Uncategorized > Welcome To My Blog

Welcome To My Blog

I just had to do it. I’ve through about it for a long time now, and I just had to finally break down and start this blog.

You see, I’ve had it about up to my neck with all the partisan bullshit that has replaced real thought on issues of the day. It seems to me that all this stupid ass bickering has managed to accomplish is for our rights – some of them granted by the constitution – to be increasingly flushed down the toilet just so some politician or other can gain political points.

That had been grating on my nerves for months, but the straw that broke the camel’s back was when my son was stopped by a cop and the first words out of the officer’s mouth was “do you have a lawyer?” When my son answered “no” he was cuffed and stuffed and treated as bad (or maybe worse) than some of the prisoners in ancient Rome! It took ten days for the wheels of justice to order his release. During those ten days other inmates tried to rape him. The guards answer: “What do you want me to do? You’re in here to be punished.”

Punished? For what? He hadn’t even been tried, never mind convicted. And in the end never would be. But never mind, in America you’re apparently guilty and are to be punished until you’re proven guilty so you can be punished.

Further research into how our system of processing those who are accused of crimes in this country left me appalled. And to add insult to injury, my wife’s car was impounded – illegally. And even a phone call from an attorney who had won a land mark case for this very thing couldn’t get the vehicle release. The department was so arrogant they told the lawyer he didn’t know what he was talking about. They then proceeded to ignore the letter of appeal the attorney told me to write. (The attorney said they would.)  Why? Because my wife is guilty until proven guilty and the police department feels it’s its job to mete out punishment. The car is, unfortunately lost and we now have to sue the department for damages in order to get justice – and hopefully to discourage this kind of behavior in the future. We lost our car. Maybe we can save someone else’s.

Then last month the Supreme Court decided that a search warrant is no longer needed for law enforcement to enter your home. Any old excuse will do, apparently, especially if they have even a whiff that they’ll find something after the fact that they can use to justify having invaded in the first place. One state already takes cell phones from drivers during routine traffic stops, and dumps the info onto this nifty little device that can steal the entire contents of an iPhone in a matter of seconds. And cars? Oh you lost your right to the privacy of the contents of your car a long time ago.

Is that the way this country was meant to be?

Well, I don’t think so. If you agree, then you mght want to bookmark this blog. I don’t guarantee I’ll post every day, but I do guarantee that when I do post, it’ll at least be an interesting read.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

